Shao-Ling ZHANG

Shao-Ling ZHANG

Publications

The patient who needs immediate assistance should not communicate directly with the researcher. Instead, they should call the doctor’s office or take other appropriate measures, such as going to the nearest emergency service.

Jobs

Chief Laboratory of molecular pediatric nephrology, CRCHUM

Full professor Department of medicine, Université de Montréal

Research Interests

The molecular mechanism(s) by which high glucose milieu constitutes an adverse in utero environment that impairs renal development and consequently programs the offspring to develop hypertension, renal dysfunction and cardiovascular disease.

Several transgenic mice and diabetic animal models are used to study of the functional impact and mechanism(s) in which a high glucose milieu leads to embryonic dysmorphogenesis, nephron deficiency, and long-term outcome (i.e., hypertension in adulthood). Advanced research approaches such as gene chip microarrays, micro-dissection and organ culture image analysis etc. cover a span of studies in vitro, ex vivo and in vivo.

Collaborations with researchers at the Harvard Medical School, McGill University, University of Toronto and Université de Montréal

Cardiometabolic

Metabolic diseases, including obesity and diabetes, are major risk factors for the development of several chronic diseases, including cardiovascular diseases, and are the leading causes of mortality and morbidity in Western countries. The research components of this multidisciplinary axis foc…

Learn more

Researchers from this theme

AVIS : Entraves à la circulation sur la rue Saint-Denis les 2, 3 et 4 mars. Merci de prévoir vos déplacements.

Shao-Ling ZHANG

Shao-Ling ZHANG

Publications

Le patient qui a besoin d’assistance immédiate ne doit pas communiquer directement avec le chercheur. Il doit plutôt appeler le cabinet du médecin ou prendre d’autres mesures appropriées, comme se rendre au service d’urgence le plus proche.

Postes

Directrice Laboratoire de néphrologie moléculaire pédiatrique, CRCHUM

Professeure sous octroi titulaire Département de médecine, Université de Montréal

Intérêts de recherche

Élucider les mécanismes moléculaires par le biais desquels un milieu à haute teneur en glucose constitue un environnement intra-utérin défavorable et nuit au développement des reins, programmant ainsi l'enfant à développer de l'hypertension, des dysfonctionnements rénaux et des maladies cardiovasculaires.

Plusieurs modèles de souris transgéniques et des modèles animaux de diabète sont utilisés pour étudier l'impact fonctionnel et les mécanismes par lesquels un milieu élevé en glucose entraîne des malformations, des déficiences au niveau des néphrons et, à long terme, de l'hypertension à l'âge adulte. Des approches de pointe telles les puces à ADN , la microdissection et la culture d'organes couvrent ainsi  un large éventail d'études in vitroex vivo et in vivo.

Collaborations avec des chercheurs de l'Université Harvard, l'Université McGill, l'Université de Toronto et l'Université de Montréal.

Recherche financée par les IRSC, la Fondation canadienne des maladies du rein (KFOC) et le Fonds de la recherche en santé du Québec (FRSQ).

Cardiométabolique

Les maladies du métabolisme, incluant obésité et diabète, sont des facteurs de risque majeurs pour le développement de plusieurs maladies chroniques dont les pathologies cardiovasculaires, et représentent les principales causes de mortalité et de morbidité des sociétés occidentales. Les volet…

En savoir plus