Guy RUTTER

Guy RUTTER

Publications

The patient who needs immediate assistance should not communicate directly with the researcher. Instead, they should call the doctor’s office or take other appropriate measures, such as going to the nearest emergency service.

Jobs

Principal Scientist Cardiometabolic Research Theme, CRCHUM

Professor of Medicine Department of Medicine, Université de Montréal

Other Affiliations

Guest Professor Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Professor Department of Medicine, Diabetes and Reproduction, Imperial College London, Royaume-Uni

Research Interests

My research focusses on diabetes mellitus, a condition which currently affects almost 10 % of the adult population worldwide and whose incidence is expected to increase further in the coming years. My chief goals are to develop new means to enhance insulin secretion in Type 2 diabetes by studying the fundamental signalling pathways through which glucose, incretins and other hormones act on the pancreatic β cell and the central nervous system. We deploy knowledge flowing from genome-wide and other genetic and epidemiological studies for this disease, and state-of-the-art technologies ranging from mouse models through genome editing, electrophysiology, super-resolution imaging, optogenetics, transcriptomics and proteomics.

Current projects include

  1. The role of beta cell sub-populations in the control of insulin secretion
  2. The mechanisms of action on insulin secretion of genes identified in genome-wide association studies
  3. Role and control of beta cell « disallowed » genes
  4. Actions of circulating biomarkers implicated in type 2 diabetes progression
  5. Control of mitochondrial dynamics by incretins

Cardiometabolic

Metabolic diseases, including obesity and diabetes, are major risk factors for the development of several chronic diseases, including cardiovascular diseases, and are the leading causes of mortality and morbidity in Western countries. The research components of this multidisciplinary axis foc…

Learn more

Port du masque - consulter les consignes en vigueur

Guy RUTTER

Guy RUTTER

Publications

Le patient qui a besoin d’assistance immédiate ne doit pas communiquer directement avec le chercheur. Il doit plutôt appeler le cabinet du médecin ou prendre d’autres mesures appropriées, comme se rendre au service d’urgence le plus proche.

Postes

Chercheur régulier Axe Cardiométabolique, CRCHUM

Professeur titulaire Département de médecine, Université de Montréal

Autres affiliations

Professeur invité Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Professeur Department of Medicine, Diabetes and Reproduction, Imperial College London, Royaume-Uni

Intérêts de recherche

Mes recherches portent sur le diabète sucré, une maladie qui touche actuellement près de 10e % de la population adulte dans le monde et dont l'incidence devrait encore augmenter dans les années à venir. Mes principaux objectifs sont de développer de nouveaux moyens d'améliorer la sécrétion d'insuline dans le diabète de typee 2 en étudiant les voies de signalisation fondamentales par lesquelles le glucose, les incrétines et d'autres hormones agissent sur la cellulee β pancréatique et le système nerveux central. Nous déployons les connaissances issues d'études génétiques et épidémiologiques à l'échelle du génome et d'autres études génétiques et épidémiologiques pour cette maladie, ainsi que des technologies de pointe telles que des modèles de souris, l'édition du génome, l'électrophysiologie, l'imagerie à super-résolution, l'optogénétique, la transcriptomique et la protéomique.

Les projets en cours comprennent :

  1. Le rôle des sous-populations de cellules bêta dans le contrôle de la sécrétion d'insuline;
  2. Les mécanismes d'action des gènes identifiés par les études d'association génomique a l’échelle du génome sur la sécrétion d'insuline;
  3. Le rôle et contrôle des gènes «e interditse » des cellules bêta;
  4. L’action des biomarqueurs circulants impliqués dans la progression du diabete de type 2;
  5. Le contrôle de la dynamique mitochondriale par les incrétines.

Cardiométabolique

Les maladies du métabolisme, incluant obésité et diabète, sont des facteurs de risque majeurs pour le développement de plusieurs maladies chroniques dont les pathologies cardiovasculaires, et représentent les principales causes de mortalité et de morbidité des sociétés occidentales. Les volet…

En savoir plus