Nathalie GRANDVAUX

Nathalie GRANDVAUX

Publications

The patient who needs immediate assistance should not communicate directly with the researcher. Instead, they should call the doctor’s office or take other appropriate measures, such as going to the nearest emergency service.

Jobs

Associate scientific director Student and postdoctoral affairs, CRCHUM

Director Host Response to Viral Infections Laboratory, CRCHUM

Professor Department of biochemistry and molecular medicine, Université de Montréal

Other Affiliation

Adjunct professor Department of microbiology and immunology, Université de Montréal

Research Interests

Viruses are a threat to human health that worsens with new epidemics and the emergence of new viruses. An ongoing global effort to combat the virus is to develop host-directed antivirals as an alternative to traditional antiviral drugs that promote the development of resistant viruses. Our research aims to understand the interaction between a virus and host cells to identify mechanisms that could be targeted to develop new antivirals. We pursue several lines of research (website):

To determine the role of redox metabolism in antiviral defense and in the pathogenesis associated with the virus. We use cellular, biochemical and proteomic biology approaches to determine the source and impact of ROS.
To determine the role of autophagy in respiratory syncytial virus (RSV) replication responsible for bronchiolitis and pneumonia in children and the elderly and immunocompromised individuals. We strongly evaluate the effect of autophagy inducers in preclinical studies to determine their antiviral potential.

Immunopathology

The Immunopathology Research Theme comprises a group of researchers spanning the basic and clinical research continuum and focusing on the immune/inflammatory processes involved in the disturbance and restoration of homeostasis.   These activities are rooted in shared visions regarding explor…

Learn more

Nathalie GRANDVAUX

Nathalie GRANDVAUX

Coordonnées

Téléphone : 514 890-8000, poste 35292

Publications

Le patient qui a besoin d’assistance immédiate ne doit pas communiquer directement avec le chercheur. Il doit plutôt appeler le cabinet du médecin ou prendre d’autres mesures appropriées, comme se rendre au service d’urgence le plus proche.

Postes

Directrice adjointe scientifique Affaires étudiantes et postdoctorales, CRCHUM

Directrice Laboratoire de recherche sur la réponse de l'hôte aux infections virales, CRCHUM

Professeure Département de biochimie et médecine moléculaire, Université de Montréal

Autre affiliation

Professeure accréditée Département de microbiologie et immunologie, Université de Montréal

Intérêts de recherche

Les virus sont une menace pour la santé humaine qui s’aggrave avec de nouvelles épidémies et l’émergence de nouveaux virus. Un effort mondial en cours dans la lutte contre le virus consiste à mettre au point des antiviraux ciblés sur l’hôte, en tant qu’alternative aux antiviraux traditionnels qui favorisent l’apparition de virus résistants. Notre recherche vise à comprendre l’interaction entre un virus et les cellules de l’hôte pour identifier les mécanismes qui pourraient être ciblés pour développer de nouveaux antiviraux. Nous poursuivons plusieurs axes de recherche (site Internet) :

Déterminer le rôle de métabolisme rédox dans la défense antivirale et dans la pathogenèse associée au virus. Nous utilisons des approches de biologie cellulaire, biochimique et protéomiques pour déterminer la source et l’impact des ROS.
Déterminer le rôle de l’autophagie dans la réplication du virus respiratoire syncytial (RSV) responsable de bronchiolites et pneumonies chez les enfants et les personnes âgées et les personnes immunodéprimées. Nous évaluons grandement l’effet des inducteurs d’autophagie dans les études précliniques afin de déterminer leur potentiel antiviral.

Immunopathologie

L’axe Immunopathologie regroupe un ensemble de chercheurs et de chercheuses qui couvrent un continuum de recherche fondamentale et clinique, articulée autour des processus immuno-inflammatoires impliqués dans la perturbation et la restauration de l’homéostasie.   Ces activités s’ancrent dans …

En savoir plus