Julie BRUNEAU

Julie BRUNEAU

Publications

The patient who needs immediate assistance should not communicate directly with the researcher. Instead, they should call the doctor’s office or take other appropriate measures, such as going to the nearest emergency service.

Jobs

Physician Drug addiction service, CHUM

Full professor Department of family medicine and emergency medicine, Université de Montréal

Chairholder Canada Research Chair in Addiction Medicine

Research Interests

Individual and contextual factors involved in the transmission of HIV and the Hepatitis C virus (HCV) among injection drug users (IDUs), with a view to identifying strategies for preventing new infections. These studies are conducted by monitoring a prospective IDU cohort seronegative for HIV and/or HCV. This cohort is linked to a geographic information system that makes it possible to study environmental and individual factors gathered during biannual meetings with participants.

Access to health care by drug addicts, in particular the evaluation of the impact of treatments for recent HCV infection among drug users on drug consumption and quality of life.

Several ongoing collaborations with researchers in epidemiology, clinical research and basic research in Quebec, Canada and abroad.

Health innovation and evaluation hub

This research theme was born out of the desire to make the CHUM a learning, teaching and communicating hospital and to help achieve sustainable development goals related to individual and population health issues. Research at the HUB is therefore multidisciplinary and cross-cutting. Teams con…

Learn more

Julie BRUNEAU

Julie BRUNEAU

Coordonnées

Téléphone : 514 890-8000, poste 35713

Courriel : julie.bruneau@umontreal.ca

Publications

Le patient qui a besoin d’assistance immédiate ne doit pas communiquer directement avec le chercheur. Il doit plutôt appeler le cabinet du médecin ou prendre d’autres mesures appropriées, comme se rendre au service d’urgence le plus proche.

Postes

Médecin Service de médecine des toxicomanies, CHUM

Professeure titulaire Département de médecine familiale et médecine d'urgence, Université de Montréal

Titulaire Chaire de recherche du Canada en médecine de toxicomanie

Intérêts de recherche

Nos recherches s'intéressent aux facteurs individuels et contextuels impliqués dans la transmission du VIH et du virus de l'hépatite C (VHC) chez les utilisateurs de drogue par injection (UDIs), en vue de mieux identifier les stratégies de prévention des nouvelles infections. Ces études sont réalisées via le suivi d'une cohorte prospective d'usagers de drogues par injection, séronégatifs pour le VIH et/ou le VHC.  Cette cohorte est liée à un système d'information géographique permettant d'étudier les facteurs de l'environnement, en plus des facteurs individuels recueillis lors des rencontres bi-annuelles avec les participants.

Nous nous intéressons aussi à l'accès aux soins pour les toxicomanes, notamment l'évaluation de l'impact du traitement de l'infection récente à l'hépatite C chez des usagers de drogues sur la consommation de drogues et la qualité de vie.

De nombreuses collaborations sont développées avec des chercheurs en épidémiologie, en recherche clinique et en science fondamentale, au Québec, au Canada et dans d'autres pays.

Carrefour de l'innovation

Cet axe de recherche s’inscrit dans la volonté de faire du CHUM un hôpital apprenant, enseignant et communicant et de contribuer à l’atteinte des objectifs du développement durable pertinents aux enjeux de santé des individus et des populations. La recherche au Carrefour est donc multidiscipl…

En savoir plus