Murphy Royal, Ciaran

Ph.D.

Principal scientist

Centre de recherche du CHUM

Research theme

Assistant professor
Department of Neuroscience, Université de Montréal

Contact

ciaran.murphy-royal@umontreal.ca
514-890-800, ext.: 12731

Lab Website

Twitter

The patient who needs immediate assistance should not communicate directly with the researcher. Instead, they should call the doctor’s office or take other appropriate measures, such as going to the nearest emergency service.

Keywords

Glia-neuron interactions
Astrocytes
Synaptic plasticity
Synaptic metabolism
Stress response

Research interests

The lab focuses on different aspects of astrocyte-neuron interactions. In particular we study the effects of stress on astrocyte structure and function. We use an array of stress paradigms in an attempt to model different aspects of stress-disorders such as anxiety, PTSD, and depression. Our goal is to reveal how the effects of stress on astrocytes influences neuronal function and output, which in turn underlies behaviour.

We are also interested in the link between astrocyte metabolism and synaptic plasticity, investigating the specific conditions under which neurons rely upon astrocytes for energetic substrates, gliotransmitters, as well as clearance of neurotransmitters and metabolites. The lab has active collaborations to develop the next generation of tools to understand astrocyte metabolism.

We use complimentary techniques combining two-photon microscopy, electrophysiology, in vivo imaging, and behaviour.

Publications

PubMed
Google Scholar

Murphy Royal, Ciaran

Ph. D.

Chercheur régulier

Centre de recherche du CHUM

Axe de recherche

Professeur adjoint
Département de neurosciences, Université de Montréal

Coordonnées

ciaran.murphy-royal@umontreal.ca
514 890-800, poste 12731

Site Web du laboratoire

Twitter

Le patient qui a besoin d’assistance immédiate ne doit pas communiquer directement avec le chercheur. Il doit plutôt appeler le cabinet du médecin ou prendre d’autres mesures appropriées, comme se rendre au service d’urgence le plus proche.

Mots-clés

Interactions glie-neurone
Astrocytes
Plasticité synaptique
Métabolisme synaptique
Réponse au stress

Intérêts de recherche

Le laboratoire se concentre sur différents aspects des interactions astrocytes-neurones. En particulier, nous étudions les effets du stress sur la structure et la fonction des astrocytes. Nous utilisons un éventail de paradigmes de stress pour tenter de modéliser différents aspects des troubles du stress tels que l'anxiété, le SSPT et la dépression. Notre objectif est de révéler comment les effets du stress sur les astrocytes influencent la fonction neuronale et la production, ce qui sous-tend le comportement.

Nous nous intéressons également au lien entre le métabolisme des astrocytes et la plasticité synaptique, en étudiant les conditions spécifiques dans lesquelles les neurones dépendent des astrocytes pour les substrats énergétiques, les gliotransmetteurs, ainsi que la clairance des neurotransmetteurs et des métabolites. Le laboratoire a des collaborations actives pour développer la prochaine génération d'outils pour comprendre le métabolisme des astrocytes.

Nous utilisons des techniques complémentaires combinant la microscopie à deux photons, l'électrophysiologie, l'imagerie in vivo et le comportement.

Publications

PubMed
Google Scholar