Martin-Yvon DESROSIERS

Martin-Yvon DESROSIERS

The patient who needs immediate assistance should not communicate directly with the researcher. Instead, they should call the doctor’s office or take other appropriate measures, such as going to the nearest emergency service.

Jobs

ENT Cervicofacial surgery, CHUM

Full clinical professor Faculty of Medicine, Université de Montréal

Other Affiliation

Member National Institute of Public Health of Quebec (INSPQ)

Research Interests

  • Understand the mechanisms of development and persistence of chronic rhinosinusitis by studying the bacterial environment of the sinuses, genetic factors that confer susceptibility to chronic rhinosinusitis, molecular mechanisms of chronic rhinosinusitis, and more recently, epithelial responses to bacteria and pro-inflammatory cytokines. 
  • Development of probiotic bacteria as therapy for chronic rhinosinusitis.
  •  Identify potential pharmacological targets to better treat patients refractory to medical and surgical treatments. 
  • Evaluation of new treatments by participation in clinical trials on chronic rhinosinusitis

Immunopathology

The Immunopathology Research Theme comprises a group of researchers spanning the basic and clinical research continuum and focusing on the immune/inflammatory processes involved in the disturbance and restoration of homeostasis. These activities are rooted in shared visions regarding explorat…

Learn more
Manipulations de laboratoire

Martin-Yvon DESROSIERS

Martin-Yvon DESROSIERS

Le patient qui a besoin d’assistance immédiate ne doit pas communiquer directement avec le chercheur. Il doit plutôt appeler le cabinet du médecin ou prendre d’autres mesures appropriées, comme se rendre au service d’urgence le plus proche.

Postes

ORL Chirurgie cervico-faciale, CHUM

Professeur titulaire de clinique Faculté de médecine, Université de Montréal

Autre affiliation

Membre Institut national de santé publique du Québec (INSPQ)

Intérêts de recherche

  • Comprendre les mécanismes de développement et de persistance de la rhinosinusite chronique en étudiant l'environnement bactérien des sinus, les facteurs génétiques qui confèrent une susceptibilité à la rhinosinusite chronique, les mécanismes moléculaires de la rhinosinusite chronique, et plus récemment, les réponses épithéliales aux bactéries et aux cytokines pro-inflammatoires. 
  • Développement de bactéries probiotiques comme thérapie pour la rhinosinusite chronique.
  • Identifier des cibles pharmacologiques potentielles pour mieux traiter les patients réfractaires aux traitements médicaux et chirurgicaux.
  • Évaluation des nouveaux traitements par participation aux essais cliniques sur la rhinosinusite chronique.

Immunopathologie

L’axe Immunopathologie regroupe un ensemble de chercheurs et de chercheuses qui couvrent un continuum de recherche fondamentale et clinique, articulée autour des processus immuno-inflammatoires impliqués dans la perturbation et la restauration de l’homéostasie.   Ces activités s’ancrent dans …

En savoir plus